FAQ

Check out my clients’ most Frequently Asked Questions…

 

 

Question: Which language pairs do you offer?

I offer translations in the following language pairs: English to French; German to French. Where other language combinations are concerned, I have a broad network of experienced and skilled colleagues in the translation industry and would be more than happy to provide you with the contact details of someone better placed to provide assistance with your text.

Question: What is the “native speaker principle”?

The “native speaker principle” means that translators should only translate into their native languages. This is the basic requirement for professional, reliable translations. In addition, I also have every translation I carry out looked over by an experienced proofreader. As two heads are better than one, this “dual control principle” guarantees high quality translations.
Let my skills in each language pair speak for themselves by taking advantage of my offer to perform a free test translation for you!

Question: What does a translation cost?

The price of a translation depends on many factors. The scope of the text, the subject area, the difficulty level, the terminology, the formatting and the delivery deadline all play a decisive role when determining the price. Normally, translation prices are calculated per “norm line” in the source text. However, I am also happy to calculate a fee based on a price per word or as an all-in fee, if this is what you prefer. When I have read your source text, I will always name my final price in advance, before I begin working, so you can have a precise idea in your mind as to what the final invoice amount will be.

Question: What is a “norm line”?

A “norm line” is the most common method of calculating a price for translations in Germany. One “norm line” consists of 55 characters (incl. spaces). In Office documents, you can view how many characters (incl. spaces) your document contains by selecting the “word count” option. If you divide this total by 55, you will have the number of “norm lines” in the whole text. Calculating “norm lines” in pdf documents is slightly trickier – to do so, it must first be converted to Word format. The finished translation will be converted back to pdf format before delivery.

Question:When will I get my translation?

As with the prices, the delivery deadline is dependent upon a number of factors. You will always receive the delivery date along with the price when I make my quotation. I perform every job I take on quickly, yet I take quality and care in my work very seriously. If your assignment is to be completed at short notice, a rush service is, of course, available.

Question: How do I send the texts I need translating to you?

You can send me your texts using the contact form, by e-mail, in the post or by fax. When sending electronically , please provide your document in Microsoft Word format, where possible. An additional fee of 10% is payable for tasks that involve working with PowerPoint, xml, pdf or other similar file formats.

Question: Do you also perform sworn translations?

I currently do not offer sworn translations. I would, however, be delighted to refer you to an experienced colleague who can help if this is what you require.

Question: Do you offer a sample translation?

I can offer you the opportunity to examine my linguistic and translation skills under the microscope. Send me an extract from your text, no longer than 200 words, and I will send you a sample translation.

Question: What’s the difference between proofreading and editing?

Proofreading involves checking the text’s spelling, punctuation and grammar, as well as hyphenation, syntax and morphology. Editing includes all aspects of proofreading, yet I will also check your text’s style, comprehensibility and consistency.

Question: In which languages do you offer your editing services?

I only offer editing services in the French language. Should you require help editing a text in English or German, I would be more than happy to refer you to a colleague who is a native speaker of these languages.

Question: What’s the difference between a translator and an interpreter?

Translators work on conveying a written text from the source language to the target language. Interpreters usually only convey spoken word from the source language to the target language.

Question: Do you offer interpreting services?

No, I focus solely on written translation.

Question: Do you offer a money-back-guarantee?

I am proud of the quality of my work. However, should you not be completely satisfied with my work, I will be glad to amend the text for you in retrospect as per your wishes.

Question: Which payment options do you accept?

I accept payment via bank transfer and PayPal.

Question: Is my information handled securely?

All information I translate, as well as all client data, is treated with the strictest confidence. Translators generally operate under an obligation of confidentiality.

If you have any more questions, feel free to write to me on info@elise-hirsch.com or to call +49 2405 1407272. I would be glad to answer them for you. Alternatively, you can also use the contact form.

FAQ

Werfen Sie einen Blick in die am häufigsten gestellten Fragen meiner Kunden!

 

 

Frage: Welche Sprachrichtungen bieten Sie an?

Ich biete Ihnen Übersetzungen in folgenden Sprachrichtungen an: Deutsch > Französisch und Englisch > Französisch. Bei weiteren Sprachkombinationen helfe ich Ihnen ebenfalls gerne weiter. Da ich über ein sehr breites Netzwerk an Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern verfüge, leite ich Ihnen gerne die Kontaktdaten einer erfahrenen Kollegin bzw. eines erfahrenen Kollegen weiter.

Frage: Was bedeutet das Muttersprachlerprinzip?

Das Muttersprachlerprinzip bedeutet, dass Übersetzer nur in ihre eigene Sprache (Muttersprache) übersetzen sollen. Dies ist die Grundvoraussetzung für professionelle und zuverlässige Übersetzungen. Jede Übersetzung lasse ich außerdem von einer erfahrenen Lektorin bzw. von einem erfahrenen Lektor gegenlesen. Dieses sogenannte Vier-Augen-Prinzip garantiert qualitativ hochwertige Übersetzungen.
Überzeugen Sie sich einfach von meinen Sprachkompetenzen, indem Sie mir eine kostenfreie Probeübersetzung in Auftrag geben!

Frage: Was kostet eine Übersetzung?

Der Preis für eine Übersetzung hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Der Umfang des Textes, das Fachgebiet, der Schwierigkeitsgrad der Terminologie, die Formatierung sowie die Lieferzeit spielen dabei eine entscheidende Rolle. Die Abrechnung einer Übersetzung erfolgt in der Regel pro Normzeile des Ausgangstextes. Gerne kann auf Wunsch die Abrechnung pro Wort oder in Form eines festen Preises erfolgen. Den Gesamtpreis nenne ich Ihnen anhand Ihres Ausgangstextes immer im Voraus, so dass Sie sofort eine präzise Vorstellung des Rechnungsbetrages bekommen.

Frage: Was ist eine Normzeile?

Die Normzeile ist in Deutschland die gängigste Abrechnungsgrundlage für Übersetzungen. Eine Normzeile besteht aus 55 Anschlägen (Zeichen inkl. Leerzeichen). Bei Office-Dateien kann mit Hilfe des Dialogfeldes “Wörter zählen” ermittelt werden, wie viele Zeichen (inkl. Leerzeichen) ein Dokument beinhaltet. Wenn Sie diesen Wert durch 55 teilen, erhalten Sie die Anzahl der Normzeilen im gesamten Text. Ermittlung von Normzeilen bei PDF-Dateien: Eine Konvertierung nach Word muss durchgeführt werden, um die Normzeilen zu ermitteln. Anschließend wird aus der Worddatei wieder ein PDF erzeugt.

Frage:Wann bekomme ich meine Übersetzung zurück?

Wie bei den Preisen hängt der Abgabetermin Ihrer Übersetzung von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Den Liefertermin erhalten Sie von mir zusammen mit dem Angebot. Ich bearbeite jeden Auftrag schnell. Qualität und Sorgfältigkeit haben aber höchste Priorität. Wenn der Auftrag kurzfristig zu bearbeiten ist, biete ich selbstverständlich auch einen Eilservice an.

Frage: Wie kann ich Ihnen die zu übersetzenden Texte zukommen lassen?

Sie können Ihre Texte per Kontaktformular, E-Mail, Post oder Fax an mich schicken. Bitte stellen Sie mir Ihre Dateien, wenn möglich, im Word-Format zur Verfügung. Für die Übersetzung von PPT-, XML-, PDF-Dateien o. ä. berechne ich einen Aufschlag von 10 %.

Frage: Bekomme ich bei Ihnen auch beglaubigte Übersetzungen?

Ich biete derzeit keine beglaubigten Übersetzungen an. Gerne leite ich jedoch Ihre Anfrage an eine kompetente Kollegin bzw. an einen kompetenten Kollegen weiter.

Frage: Bieten Sie Probeübersetzungen an?

Ich biete Ihnen die Möglichkeit, meine Sprach- und Übersetzungskompetenzen unter die Lupe zu nehmen. Stellen Sie mir einen Auszug von max. 200 Wörtern zur Verfügung und Sie erhalten zeitnah Ihre Probeübersetzung.

Frage: Wo liegt der Unterschied zwischen Korrekturlesen und Lektorieren?

Das Korrektorat beinhaltet die Überarbeitung von Orthographie, Grammatik, Interpunktion, Silbentrennung, Syntax und Morphologie. Das Lektorat beinhaltet die Leistungen des Korrektorats sowie die Überarbeitung von Stil, Verständlichkeit und inhaltliche Stringenz.

Frage: In welchen Sprachen bieten Sie das Lektorat an?

Ich biete das Lektorat hauptsächlich in französischer Sprache an. Für die deutsche und die englische Sprache leite ich gerne Ihre Anfrage an eine muttersprachliche Kollegin bzw. an einen muttersprachlichen Kollegen weiter.

Frage: Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einem Übersetzer und einem Dolmetscher?

Übersetzer übertragen einen schriftlich vorliegenden Text von einer Ausgangssprache in eine Zielsprache. Dolmetscher übertragen mündlich einen in der Regel gesprochenen Text von einer Ausgangssprache in eine Zielsprache.

Frage: Bieten Sie Dolmetschdienste an?

Nein, ich konzentriere mich nur auf schriftliche Übersetzungen.

Frage: Bekommt man bei Ihnen eine Geld-Zurück-Garantie?

Ich lege viel Wert auf die Qualität meiner Arbeit. Sollten Sie dennoch nicht vollständig mit dem Ergebnis zufrieden sein, dann nehme ich selbstverständlich gerne nachträglich die gewünschten Anpassungen vor.

Frage: Welche Zahlungsmöglichkeiten bieten Sie an?

Ich akzeptiere folgende Zahlungsarten: Banküberweisung und PayPal.

Frage: Werden meine Informationen vertraulich behandelt?

Alle Informationen, die von mir übersetzt werden sowie alle Kundendaten werden selbstverständlich vertraulich behandelt. Übersetzer unterliegen generell einer Verschwiegenheitspflicht.

Sollten Sie noch weitere Fragen haben, so beantworte ich diese gerne unter info@elise-hirsch.com oder unter +49 (0)151 61217487. Alternativ können Sie auch mein Kontaktformular nutzen.